Moving on

As per the earlier entry, I’ve finally decided to give algebraic topology a rest. I’ll probably try to work a problem or two every day once I start back, but for the next few days, I’m going to focus on other things.

I went through the books on my bookshelf and came up with some that are going to work well for studying this summer. Here’s what I’ve uncovered:

  • Differential Geometry
    • Kobayashi and Nomizu Vols 1 & 2
    • Auslander
  • Differential Topology
    • Lee’s Introduction to Smooth Manifolds
    • Guilleman and Pollack
  • Algebra
    • Hungerford
    • MacLane and Birkhoff

At some point, I may decide to break out some textbooks on Real Analysis and Complex Analysis, too, but those seem less pressing to my progress moving forward.

In addition to the above, I have some additional research lined up in hypercomplex analysis and in module theory (the study of D-modules, in particular), but I don’t own any textbooks for those.

You know that feeling when you really really enjoy something that also happens to coincide with what you do for a living, and when you’re able to remove the “work” aspect from it? That feeling that happens when you have an entire summer to just enjoy the thing you enjoy without being forced to do it outside an environment that works for you?

What has two thumbs and is completely basking in that feeling right now? This guy, and I’m nerd-cheesin’ so hard right now.

Leave a Reply

