What dreams are made of

So for those of you who haven’t noticed, I’ve been doing algebraic topology a lot lately.

Pretty much any time I’m not doing life stuff or helping parent my son, I’m on my laptop with a black Pilot 1mm G2 (aka the greatest pen of all time) and a legal pad and I’m frantically trying to figure out things…or I’m trying to convince myself that I finally understand the differences between the definitions of retract and weak deformation retract and strong deformation retract and that the differences aren’t just subtle nuances but are actually deep and significant and deep.

I’ve been doing algebraic topology a lot lately.

Whenever I spend lots of time doing the same thing in succession, I find my brain existing in a very unilaterally-focused state where nothing really registers outside the thing I’m doing lots of. In such moments, I find that I’m constantly working on  said thing when I’m walking in the park or when I’m grocery shopping or when I’m sleeping…

…I’ve been doing algebraic topology while sleeping….

Pretty much every night this week, I’ve snapped awake only to realize that the thoughts pre-snap consisted of homotopies or of commutative diagrams or of compositions of compositions of compositions of….

…I’ve been doing algebraic topology a lot lately.

Presently, it’s 6am. I’ve been awake for 3 hours because – let’s face it – I almost never sleep anymore. The first thing I did when I woke up at 3am? Log in to WordPress and break out the legal pad.

The good news: I’m making progress. The bad news: I’m starting to fear I won’t be able to make progress on any of the other topics I’d set aside for summer studies.

I think I’m going to be more pro-active in remedying the bad news there, though. As soon as I get done transcribing the solution (I’m sure you guys have noticed my solutions page, yes?) I just figured out, I’m going to break out a different book (perhaps even on a different subject?) and try my hands at that.

Ideally, I’d like to expand my solutions page (singular) to solution page(plural) as I work through other meaningful texts in my life. I’d really like to take a stab at doing a large portion of Munkres’ problems, though I’m about 101% sure I’ll never be able to do all of them; I’d also like to take some time to add some solutions to differential something because – truth be told – I’m a differential something-er at heart. This is inescapable.

On the other hand, I really don’t want to ignore my original passion – algebra – though posting solutions there would be more challenging. Why, you ask? Well, working through Dummit and Foote has always been a goal of mine, but Nathan Bloomfield already has an absolutely tremendous WordPress blog set up for precisely such a work-through. So, long story short: Even if/when I do work through those problems, posting them seems completely pointless.

Now, however, I fear I’m just rambling.

Good night, world.

One thought on “What dreams are made of

  1. Pingback: The Intersection of the Collection of Dreams and the Collection of Maths, or Dynkin π-λ Systems | riemannian hunger

Leave a Reply

