Stir Crazy

So today was one of those days that’s beyond frustrating for someone in academia.

I went to the University today to split my time between running errands and getting work done. At the end of the day, I managed to do a whole bunch of errands – including the waiting in between that came with literally every single thing I had to do – and almost no work. Seriously, despite being up and “working” for nearly twelve hours, all I’ve managed to do is “finish” a “solution” (sounds confident, eh?) of Problem 0.14 in Hatcher and to type up a handful of definitions from Kobayashi and Nomizu.

Then, I got to thinking: One of the claims in K&N is a bit abstract and I want to make sure I can hash out the details. So three hours ago, I started trying to do that.

Three hours later: I have no improvements to claim.

I feel like I’m (a) on the verge, and (b) missing something stupid.

Today was one of those days that’s beyond frustrating for someone in academia.

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

